Managing Epilepsy Well Network Logo Managing Epilepsy Well Home Page
Project UPLIFT Training for Mental Health Professionals

We are looking to train mental health professionals in the states that are not highlighted on the map. If you are interested and from one of the non-highlighted states, please contact us at 404-727-7043 or e-mail us at uplift@emory.edu.

 

UPLIFT Dissemination Map

 

 

UPLIFT Training

Project UPLIFT Training

Who should attend?

  • Licensed health professionals from the 50 US states
  • Professionals trained include social workers, pastoral and other counselors, psychologists, registered nurses, and psychiatrists. We will train students in these fields with a letter from a licensed supervisor

Location and format

  • Phone training delivered in one-hour weekly sessions over a ten-week period

Registration fees & Materials

  • Registration is free
  • Registration includes CDs and manuals for the facilitator and participants
  • Continuing Education credits are available through the CDC

Upon completion of the program, trainees will be able to train future program facilitators without charge.

To Register or for more information:  please contact us at 404-727-7043 or e-mail us at uplift@emory.edu.

 


Project UPLIFT (Using Practice and Learning to Increase Favorable Thoughts) is home-based program designed to treat depression in people with epilepsy.  Based upon Mindfulness-based cognitive therapy for depression, the pilot study found the program to significantly reduce symptoms of depression more than a treatment-as-usual wait-list condition among people with epilepsy.  Now in the dissemination phase, the goal is to recruit and train at least one licensed mental health professionals from each of the 50 states.  The training lasts for 10 weeks and is conducted over a conference call that meets once a week for one hour.  The training is free and offers free continuing education credits upon full completion of the training.

Developed by Dr. Nancy Thompson with CDC funding, Project UPLIFT provides group delivery of depression treatment by telephone or through the Internet. Project UPLIFT uses Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy for Depression.1 Results of the pilot effectiveness study of Project UPLIFT found it to significantly reduce symptoms of depression among people in Epilepsy.2

Project UPLIFT is ready to be implemented by mental health professionals in communities across the US. Each trainee will receive instruction in both delivering Project UPLIFT treatment for epilepsy, and in training intervention peer-facilitators.

Participants receive all the materials necessary for their training and for the successful implementation of UPLIFT in their community. These materials include: CDs and manuals for the facilitator and for participants. Trainees who complete the program will be able to train future facilitators at no charge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Program for Project UPLIFT dissemination training 3
10 sessions- 60 minutes each

Session 1: Overview of UPLIFT, Epilepsy, and Depression
Session 2: Monitoring Thoughts
Session 3: Challenging & Changing Thoughts
Session 4: Coping & Relaxing
Session 5: Attention & Mindfulness
Session 6: The Present as a Calm Place
Session 7:Thoughts as Changeable, Thoughts as
Impermanent
Session 8: Focus on Pleasure & the Importance of
Reinforcement
Session 9: Preventing Relapse
Session 10: Logistics and Resources 4

 

 

Trainees contact list

State Name Organization Contact E-mail
California Denise J. Hockley Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist email@denisehockley.com
Colorado Liza Tegillus HCP San Juan Basin Health Department lizatrig@gmail.com
Colorado Marcee Aude Epilepsy Foudation of Colorado marcee@epilepsycolorado.org
Colorado Wendy Kogel Epilepsy Foundation of Colorado caremanager@epilepsycolorado.org
Colorado Marie Collier St. Mary's Medical Group No email
970-298-3150
Connecticut Carrie Erwin Yale Epilepsy Center Carrie.Erwin@ynhh.org
Delaware Val Budischak The Epilepsy Foundation of Delaware Vbudischak@efde.org
Florida Victoria Lawler Epilepsy Services of Southwest Florida vlawler@seizuredisorders.org
Florida Judy Siskind Epilepsy Foundation of Florida jsiskind@efof.org
Georgia Elizabeth Neri Metropolitan Counseling Services eneri@mcsatlanta.org
Georgia Ann M. DiGirolamo Georgia State University adigirolamo@gsu.edu
Idaho Teri Crowther Care Providers Network of Idaho lightedpathwaysinc@gmail.com
Illinois Ellen Becker Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Southern Illinois  ellen.epilepsy@gmail.com
Illinois MaryJo Perlongo Epilepsy Foundation of Greater Chicago mperlongo@epilepsychicago.org
Kansas James Townsend Epilepsy Foundation of Missouri and Kansas jtownsend@efha.org
Maine Ashley Soule Neurosciences Institute at Maine Medical Center soulea1@mmc.org
Maryland
Symone Colquitt Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist  symonecolquitt@gmail.com
Maryland Virginia Barnes Ricketts Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor vbr.counseling@verizon.net
Massachusetts Gaston Baslet Brigham & Women's Hospital gbaslet@partners.org
Massachusetts Kim Willment Brigham & Women's Hospital willment@partners.org
Michigan Andrea Thomas Henry Ford Hospital athomas9@hfhs.org
Minnesota Kris Elvrum MINCEP/University of Minnesota kelvrum10@umphysicians.umn.edu
Minnesota Heather Harper MINCEP/University of Minnesota hharper10@umphysicians.umn.edu
Minnesota Ken Dennis Private Practice ken.dennis@juno.com
Mississippi Curtis Oliver National Behavioral College nana41056@gmail.com
Missouri Cuba Davis Saint Luke's Hospital of Kansas City - Psychiatry Department csdavis@saint-lukes.org
Montana Marie Collier St. Mary's Medical Group No email
970-298-3150
North Dakota Gail Nelson Journey Counseling, PLLC JourneyCounselors@gmail.com
New Hampshire Karen Secore Dartmouth-Hitchcock Karen.L.Secore@hitchcock.org
New Jersey Debra A. Haverson Debra Haverson Psychotherapy Services, LLC dhaverson@aim.com
New Jersey Urmi Vaidya-Mathur Northeast Regional Epilepsy Group u_vaidya@hotmail.com
New York Alexandra Rutherfurd Epilepsy Foundation arutherfurd@efmny.org
New York Pallavi Visvanathan New York  Manhattan Center for Mindfulness-Informed Therapy visvanathanphd@gmail.com
New York Laura Diaz New York University laura.diaz@nyumc.org
New York Denise Eshenaur Epilepsy-Pralid, Inc deshenaur@epiny.org
Pennsylvania Carol Schramke Epilepsy Clinic at Allegheny General Hospital  CSCHRAMK@wpahs.org 
Texas Monica Bellar Private Practice bellarmonica@gmail.com
Texas Kirsten Jackson Epilepsy Outreach of Parkland Health & Hospital System KIRSTEN.JACKSON@PHHS.ORG
Texas Elizabeth Kent Private Practice Elizabeth@elizabethkent.net
Utah Beverly Patchell University of Utah beverlypatchell@gmail.com
Utah Ann Hutton University of Utah ann.hutton@nurs.utah.edu
Virginia Diane Carter Care Connection for Children DCC6M@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu
Virginia Andrea Konig University of Virginia ak8xh@hscmail.mcc.virginia.edu
Washington Bob Fraser University of Washington, Epilepsy Center rfraser@uw.edu
Washington Erica Johnson Rehabilitation Psychologist ericajohnsonphd@uwalumni.com
Wisconsin Ken Dennis Private Practice ken.dennis@juno.com
Wyoming Marie Collier St. Mary's Medical Group No email
970-298-3150


1. Segal ZV, Williams JMG, Teasdale JD. (2002). Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy for Depression: A New Approach to Preventing Relapse. New York: Guilford.
2. Thompson, N. J., Walker, E. R., Obolensky, N., Winning, A., Barmon, C., DiIorio, C., & Compton, M. T. (2010). Distance delivery of mindfulness-based cognitive therapy for depression: Project UPLIFT. Epilepsy & Behavior, 19, 247-254.
3. Session 2-9: Involve reviewing the facilitator’s manual with participants. At least two participants will practice facilitation during each session.
4. Session 10 will go over costs associated with the program, mental health resources, and a Q & A before concluding the training.

 

Related MEW publications:

DiIorio C, Bamps Y, Edwards AL, Escoffery C, Thompson NJ, Begley CE, Shegog R, Clark NM, Selwa L, Stoll S, Fraser RT, Ciechanowski P, Johnson EK, Kobau R, Price PH.(2010). The Prevention Research Centers' Managing Epilepsy Well Network. Epilepsy & Behavior. 2010 Sept. 22. [Epub ahead of print].
doi:10.1016/j.yebeh.2010.07.027
View PubMed Abstract

Reisinger Walker E, Obolensky N, Dini S, Thompson, NJ. (2010). Formative and process evaluations of a CBT and mindfulness intervention for people with epilepsy and depression. Epilepsy & Behavior, Volume 19(3): 239-246.
doi:10.1016/j.yebeh.2010.07.032
View PubMed Abstract

Thompson NJ, Reisinger Walker E, Obolensky N, Winning A, Barmon C, DiIorio C, Compton M.(2010). Distance Delivery of Mindfulness-based Cognitive Therapy for Depression: Project UPLIFT. Epilepsy & Behavior, Volume 19(3): 247-254.
doi:10.1016/j.yebeh.2010.07.031
View PubMed Abstract

Thompson NJ, Patel A, Begley C, Fraser R, Johnson E, Selwa L, Stoll S.(2014). Expanding the Efficacy of Project UPLIFT: Distance Delivery of Mindfulness-based Depression Prevention to People with Epilepsy. Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology.
doi:10.1037/a0038404
View PubMed Abstract

 

 

MEW Network